#FacesOfPTSD

#FacesOfPTSD is a grassroots campaign designed to change common misconceptions surrounding PTSD… Read to find out more!

lilacs in october

Not All Wars Take Place on the Battlefield

“To look at me, you’d think there’s nothing wrong. We could have a conversation and you’d never suspect that behind my friendly smile there’s a private war raging. Beneath nightmares and unbidden thoughts are wounds that haven’t yet healed, scars that never will

 arwen1

And so begins, Changing My Brain, the first essay I have ever written for a national publication, the Globe and Mail.

Grounded in the psychological concept of neuroplasticity, a brain’s ability to reorganize and create new neural connections to compensate for trauma, injury, or disease, my article was never intended to be merely a narrative confession. It was meant to be an eye-opener, an explanation, and an absolute declaration to the whole damn world, “This is who I am, that is how it happened, and here is what I intend to do to about…

View original post 722 more words

2 thoughts on “#FacesOfPTSD

  1. Thank you, Arwen, for a great article in the Globe and Mail, and for spearheading this important campaign. I, too, am a survivor of sexual abuse in recovery from PTSD. And I, too, am a writer, and have recently finished a book about my healing process. Your approach fascinates me, especially given all the recent research we’ve been hearing about that shows how our brains lay down traumatic memories differently than neutral ones. Count me in for #FacesofPTSD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

